T-Belly Generation 2

What works and what doesn't. Share design ideas, references and contacts for paipo board builders.
nomastomas
Big Wave Charger
City: Ojai
State or Province: CA
Interests: Surfing, cycling and fishing

T-Belly Generation 2

Unread post by nomastomas »

My name is Thomas Patrick (aka NomasTomas) and I'm a surfcraft builder by trade. While the majority of the surfcraft I build are longboards and "alternative" mid-length shapes, I continuue to be intrigued by belly boards and the challenges they present to designer/shaper/rider. I build no more than 1 or 2 T-Bellys a year, but I think about them a lot, some would say too much, given the ultra-low demand for these unquestionably "niche" shapes. And, of course I follow what other's are designing/building on this forum with great interest.

More recently, I have been building a lot of surfboards using EPS/epoxy construction. The ratio of volume to buoyancy with EPS is extremely attractive for riders over 170lbs (most of us are ways north of that mark I would guess) Less volume means thinner, more sensitive rail design, and less drag. But, less volume by way of EPS/epoxy construction can be more costly as compasred to standard polyurethane foam/polyester resin (PU/PE). Make no mistake, of all the prone-riding surfcraft that can be built, fiberglass-over-foam-core boards are probably the most expensive. But, they also accommodate a variety of possible design features that in some cases, e.g. bottom contours, foil, etc can only be accompolished using this medium. Other builders on this forum have experimented with EPS/epoxy construction with some success.