Which paipo for hollow waves ?

What works and what doesn't. Share design ideas, references and contacts for paipo board builders.
zensuni
Big Wave Charger
City: Bordeaux
State or Province: Aquitaine

Which paipo for hollow waves ?

Unread post by zensuni »

Hi there, I'm new on this forum, so let me introduce myself. I am from France, so please don't pay attention to my weack english. I'm 36, I have been bodyboarding for 3 years. Now I am interested in "shaping" and riding paipos, for some reasons I don't even understand myself. I'm not such a good bodyboarder, but I love the idea of surfing prone a little piece of wood. I live on the atlantic west south coast of France (near Biaritz), here the waves are beach breack type, hollow and quite powerfull. It is very rare that waves are too small (it happens sometimes during the summer), most of the time it is too big for me, always hollow, closing out by sections, mainly offshore wind. It almost never gently collapses like a big mountain. Here shortboards are what you would see the most, not the kind of waves that can be rode by longboards (unless sometimes during the summer).

Fortunately, sometimes it is fine for me. So I take the bodyboard, or since last summer, the paipo.
I have read plenty of great informations about paipo shaping and riding, thank you by the way for creating this web site which is so interresting for paipo riders.

My question is about the paipo shape that would suit to the kind of waves I have.
I feel like the hawaian finless "plate" design like HPD boards wouldn't be great, although I have never tested it. I assume it would be too "slow", and would struggle to grip the hollow waves. I started with a "classic" shape (belly button height, shaped like a small surf board, flat tail) that I quickly built from a pine plank, with a wooden fin glued on the back. I tested if once, actually it was ok, even though the waves were not great, but I could take a few normal waves.